8 New Members Every Year - GUARANTEED!
That sounds like a bold claim, doesn't it? Eight new members - guaranteed - every single year? Sound too good to be true? It's not!
Before we talk about membership, let's talk about your car. Let's say your car has a 15-gallon tank (that's 56.8 liters for our friends outside the US) and it gets 20 miles to the gallon (or 8.5 kilometers to the liter). How far can you go on one tank of gas?
15 gallons x 20 miles per gallon = 300 miles
(or, 56.8 liters x 8.5 kilometers per liter = 482.8 kilometers)
Another way you can look at it - if you just drove 300 miles and it took 15 gallons to fill up your tank, then you know you averaged 20 miles per gallon.
300 miles / 15 gallons = 20 miles per gallon
(482.8 kilometers / 56.8 liters = 8.5 kilometers per liter)
It's the same concept when it comes to guaranteeing 8 new members every year. You need three numbers from last year:
- The number of times your club met.
- The number of guests you had at your meetings.
- The number of new members that joined your club.
I'll work through an example purposely using round numbers:
- Your club met twice a month for 24 meetings last year.
- Looking through your club's meeting minutes (See? A good reason to keep meeting minutes!) you see that you had 2 guests at each meeting for a total of 48 guests last year.
- Looking at the dashboard report for last year you see that you had 6 new members.
Take the total number of guests you had last year and divide that by the number of new members.
48 guests / 6 new members = 8 guests per new member
This means that for every new member that joined your club, you needed to get 8 guests to attend your meetings. That means, if you want to get 2 more new members than you did last year (for a total of 8 new members), then you have to get 16 more guests to attend your meetings.
8 guests per new member x 2 more new members = 16 more guests
Another option is to improve your "conversion rate".
6 new members / 48 guests = 0.125 (or 12.5%)
That means you "converted" 12.5% of all guests into new members. If you double your "conversion rate" to 25% - those 8 new members increase to 12 new members!
Now imagine if you're able to get more guests AND improve your "conversion rate"!